Don’t Tell Me Someone Has Been Canceled, this Pussy-Ass Passive Voice Bullshit.

Arielle Isaac Norman
1 min readSep 29, 2020

Tell me you’ve decided to boycott their projects/products/performances.

Tell me Netflix has removed a show they made or acted in.

Tell me we’ve got #cancelsoandso trending on Twitter.

Tell me everyone in your YouTube world says they’re “human garbage.”

Tell me they lost X followers or that their sales are down Y percent.

Tell me they lost their job (and their health insurance).

Tell me they’ve become a social pariah and receive daily death threats, that they’re scared for their family or desperately wish they had one to be with right now.

Tell me people on Instagram are burning the books they wrote.

Tell me people with seventeen followers are harassing TikTok influencers for saying they’re still fans.

Tell me you’ve lost a friend because you tried to explain a different point of view about them.

Tell me you keep quiet about how you feel so you don’t lose friends.

Tell me you think this person is One of the Bad Guys.

Tell me you think they’re evil, irredeemable.

Don’t tell me they’ve been canceled.

Tell me what we’ve done.

--

--